The Johnstown Sir Bills and Lady Bills compete in the Foothills Council in Section 2 of the New York State Public High School Athletic Association. The Greater Johnstown School District supports participation in athletics and believes it contributes to an overall well-rounded education, as well as physical fitness.

Family ID Sign-up Portal for Athletics & Extracurricular Activities Registration

The Greater Johnstown School District now offers the convenience of online registration through FamilyID, a secure registration platform that provides you with an easy, user-friendly way to register for our athletic and extracurricular programs and keep track of your information. Remember to use FamilyID to register for athletic and extracurricular opportunities. All athletes must have an up to date physical on file and must be approved in Family ID to participate.

Game Schedules

Game Schedules for varsity, jv and modified teams are posted by the Johnstown Athletic Office on an external site.

Spectator admission to athletic events in the Greater Johnstown School District is free (with the exception of Sectional contests). Spectator admission to Section 2 quarterfinal football games is $6 per person. Spectator admission to semifinal lacrosse games is $6 per person. Section 2 sets all prices for these games.

Livestream Links for Foothills Council Field Hockey, Football, Soccer, Volleyball

Please visit this page for livestream links for Foothills Council field hockey, football, boys and girls soccer and volleyball

Fulton County Basketball League Livestream Links

Mayfield: (membership fee required)

Sports Offerings & Coaching Staff

Fall 2024-25

  • Cross Country – Lisa VanAernam, Head Coach (appointed 07/02/24)
  • Field Hockey – Jeanine LoDestro, Head Coach (appointed 07/02/24)
  • Football – Paul Furman, Head Coach (appointed 07/02/24)
  • Golf – Jay Holland, Head Coach (appointed 07/02/24)
  • Boys Soccer – Tom Horning, Head Coach (appointed 07/02/24)
  • Girls’ Soccer – Erica Fitzpatrick, Head Coach (appointed 07/02/24)
  • Volleyball – Holly Livingston, Head Coach (appointed 07/02/24)

Winter 2024-25

  • Boys Basketball – Phillip Satterlee, Head Coach (appointed 07/02/24)
  • Girls Basketball – Megan Anagnostopulos, Head Coach (appointed 07/02/24)
  • Bowling – David Hayward, Head Coach (appointed 07/02/24)
  • Skiing (Alpine) – Eric Cheney, Head Coach (appointed 07/02/24)
  • Skiing (Cross Country) – Jennifer Sweeney, Head Coach (appointed 07/02/24)
  • Swim – Julianna Popp, Head Coach (appointed 07/02/24)
  • Wrestling – TBD, Head Coach

Spring 2024-25

  • Baseball – Jon Jennings, Head Coach (appointed 07/02/24)
  • Boys Lacrosse  – Rob Berju, Head Coach (appointed 07/02/24)
  • Girls Lacrosse – Alex VanAernam, Head Coach (appointed 07/02/24)
  • Softball – Katie McCumber, Head Coach (appointed 07/02/24)
  • Track – Missy Kaszuba, Head Coach (appointed 07/02/24)

Dominic Murray Sudden Cardiac Arrest Prevention Act

The Dominic Murray Sudden Cardiac Arrest Prevention Act is a new law as of July 1, 2022. Known informally as “Dominic’s Law,” the Sudden Cardiac Arrest Prevention Act is named for Dominic Murray, a 17-year-old who collapsed and died on a Farmingdale State College basketball court in 2009. The goal of Dominic’s Law is to promote safe interscholastic athletics and to prevent incidents of SCA in student-athletes. 

This law requires schools, students, and parents/guardians to have information on sudden cardiac arrest risks, signs, and symptoms. SCA requires any student who displays signs or symptoms of sudden cardiac arrest to be immediately removed from athletic activities. They will not be able to resume until they have been evaluated by and received signed authorization from a licensed physician.

SCA in at-risk students can be triggered by athletic activities. To decrease any chance of SCA in a student, an Interval Health History for Athletics must be completed and signed by a parent/guardian before each sports season unless a physical examination has been conducted within 30 days before the start of the season. The form will be made available this summer to families of students participating in fall athletics. This form has questions to help identify changes since the last physical examination or health history was completed. School personnel may require a student with health or history changes to see a healthcare provider before participating in athletics.

Additional Information about Sudden Cardiac Arrest:

What is SCA?

Sudden Cardiac Arrest (SCA) is an emergency that happens when the heart suddenly stops working. SCA can cause death if not treated immediately, and even with treatment, death may occur. Immediate treatment is cardiopulmonary resuscitation (CPR) and use of an automatic external defibrillator (AED). All public schools must have a staff member trained in the use of CPR and AED in school and at all school athletic events.

How common is SCA in youth?

Sudden cardiac arrest in children and youth is rare. The incidence of sudden cardiac death (SCD) on the playing field is 0.61 in 100,000.

Who is at risk for SCA?

Preventing SCA before it happens is the best way to save a life. Both your family health history and your child’s personal history must be told to healthcare providers to help them know if your child is at risk for sudden cardiac arrest. Ask your child if they are having any of the symptoms listed below and tell a healthcare provider. Know your family history and tell a healthcare provider of any risk factors listed below.

What are the signs/symptoms of SCA?

  • Fainting or seizure, especially during or right after exercise or with excitement or startled
  • Racing heart, palpitations, or irregular heartbeat
  • Dizziness, lightheadedness, or extreme fatigue with exercise
  • Chest pain or discomfort with exercise
  • Excessive shortness of breath during exercise
  • Excessive, unexpected fatigue during or after exercise

Personal risk factors for students include:

  • Use of diet pills, performance-enhancing supplements, energy drinks, or drugs such as cocaine, inhalants, or “recreational” drugs.
  • Elevated blood pressure or cholesterol
  • History of health care provider ordered test(s) for heart related issues

Family history risk factors for a student include:

  • Family history of known heart abnormalities or sudden death before 50 years of age
  • Family members with unexplained fainting, seizures, drowning, near drowning or car accidents before 50 years of age
  • Structural heart abnormality, repaired or unrepaired
  • Any relative diagnosed with the following conditions:
    – Enlarged Heart/ Hypertrophic Cardiomyopathy/Dilated Cardiomyopathy
    – Arrhythmogenic Right Ventricular Cardiomyopathy
    – Heart rhythm problems, long or short QT interval
    – Brugada Syndrome
    – Catecholaminergic Ventricular Tachycardia
    – Marfan Syndrome – aortic rupture
    – Heart attack at 50 years or younger
    – Pacemaker or implanted cardiac defibrillator (ICD)