Skip to content

Warren St.

Summer Fun: Classical Kids Performance

Summer Fun: Classical Kids Performance

On Friday, August 3rd, 26 Warren Street Students, together with 26 parents and five chaperones, all under the direction of Warren Street Music Teacher Lynn Makrin, attended the 2018 SPAC Classical Kids performance with the Philadelphia Orchestra.

The event was full of space related activities, ice cream, a drumming circle, and then a fabulous concert including Sibelius’ “Night Ride and Sunrise,” a new work by Theofanidis called “Rainbow Body,” and Holst’s “The Planets” with full accompanying video from NASA and the Jet Propulsion Laboratories.

Special thanks to the Johnstown Music Support Group and to the community for fundraising to support the bus for this wonderful trip. All of the students who went will receive a “Classical Kids” pass for free admission to all of SPAC’s classical events from now until they graduate from high school.

Read More →

Warren Street Undergoing Renovations

Warren Street Undergoing Renovations

As part of the district-wide capital project, there is lots of renovation happening at Warren Street this summer! Check out these photos of the new library, new entrance, and offices:

Read More →

School Supplies 2018-19

Don’t wait until September, shop at your leisure during summer sales for these school supplies for 2018-19:

Pleasant Avenue

Glebe Street

Warren Street

Knox Junior High

Johnstown High School

 

 

Read More →

Follow Mrs. Lent on Twitter!

Now you can follow our Warren Street Principal, Mrs. Lent, on Twitter! Check it out and see what’s happening at Warren! @WarrenStPrinc

Read More →

Transportation Paperwork Deadline Aug. 17

Parents and guardians are reminded to submit any requests for changes in student pick-up or drop-off locations no later than August 17, 2018. Changes made after August 17 will not take effect until September 17! 

Call the HFM BOCES Regional Transportation Office at 518-775-5788 to confirm or make a change. Please notify your school office too!

Read More →

Changes for Sixth Grade in September

Have you heard about the exciting changes coming for sixth graders at Warren Street?

Sixth graders will be working with all teachers in ONE team and be following schedules starting in September 2018. The team is excited to start this adventure as we are confident it will benefit students and families in many ways!

A special Open House for sixth grade families is being scheduled and more information about that will be provided soon.  An informative letter will be sent home the week of July 23rd, and some details can be found in the following links:

Read More →

Announcements Thursday, June 21

Announcements Thursday, June 21

Thursday, June 21, 2018

Thursday, June 14, 2018

Thursday, May 31, 2018

Please note: this was filmed before the changes in the kickball schedule. Ms. Scott’s students will be playing with Mrs. Hart’s class.

 

Thursday, May 24, 2018

Thursday, May 17, 2018

Thursday, May 10, 2018

Thursday, May 3, 2018

Thursday, April 26, 2018

Thursday, April 19, 2018

Thursday, April 12, 2018

Thursday, March 29, 2018

Thursday, March 22, 2018

Thursday, March 15, 2018

Thursday, March 8, 2018

Thursday, March 1, 2018

Thursday, February 15, 2018

Thursday, February 8, 2018

Thursday, February 1, 2018

Thursday, January 25, 2018

Thursday, January 18, 2018

Thursday, January 11, 2018

Thursday, January 4, 2018

Thursday, December 21, 2017

Thursday, December 14, 2017

Thursday, December 7, 2017

Thursday, November 30, 2017

Thursday, November 16, 2017

Thursday, November 9, 2017

Thursday, November 2, 2017

morning announcements icon

Read More →

Annual Elementary Track Meet 2018

Annual Elementary Track Meet 2018

Students in grades 4-6 from Warren Street and Wheelerville took part in the annual Johnstown Elementary Track Meet at Knox Field on Thursday, May 31st. They competed in a variety of track and field events such as the 50 Meter Dash, 50 Yard Hurdles, 200 and 400 Meter Relays, 40 Yard Shuttle Relay, Standing and Running Long Jump, Softball Throw, Discus, Shot Put and Tug-of-War.

As part of their preparation for the annual track meet, the students first participated in a track and field unit in physical education class where they were able to learn and practice their events and organize their relay teams.

Thank you to Bill Trojan and Paul Wager for the great pictures, thank you to everyone who assisted with organizing this event, and thank you to all of our future Sir Bills and Lady Bills for their effort and teamwork.

Photo gallery open for public viewing at:

wide angle shot of Warren fourth, fifth & sixth graders in the bleachers at Knox Field

Read More →

A Fun Introduction to Coding

A Fun Introduction to Coding

A group of Warren Street Students worked with Johnstown High School students and staff to get an introduction to coding.  The students created code and programmed mini robots and a great time was had by all!  This group is looking forward to another visit by high school students next week and we can’t wait to see what fun activity they will be working on.

Read More →

A Visit with Author James Preller

A Visit with Author James Preller

On Thursday, May 24th, author James Preller visited Knox to discuss his books and writing process with students in sixth, seventh and eighth grades. After Mr. Preller’s presentations, a small group of students participated in a Q & A session with the author, where they discussed their own writing and books that they love.

Special thanks to Ms. Chaulk and Ms. Rau for putting the event together; to the Knox PTSA and JEPTA for sponsoring; and to Mysteries on Main Street for helping with book sales.

 

 

 

Read More →

Top