National Honor Society Inducts New Members

2017-18 NHS junior & senior membrs

The 2017-2018 NHS junior and senior members

Fourteen students from Johnstown High School were inducted as members of the William A. Wright Chapter of the National Honor Society in a ceremony held at the school on Tuesday, March 27.

The following new members were selected by the Faculty Council based on meeting high standards of scholarship, service, leadership, and character: Charlie Brown, Heidi Chamberlain, Augustus D’Amore, Madison Etherton, Grace Fitzgerald, Sophia Frenyea, Abigail Gottung, Alexis Houser, Molly Lake, Rachel Lee, Victor Orsell, Altreyvious Stover, Taylor Vose, and Olivia Weiderman.

Peter VanDenburgh, president of the NHS, served as Master of Ceremony, while officers Emily Miles, Victoria Baker, Adam Wilson and Jillian Martelle gave speeches on the four tenets of the society. Senior members Sara Stortecky and Abigail Baker also participated in the formal presentations.

NHS members honored their parents for their support and guidance and presented them with a rose. They also honored Mrs. Anne Bagot, teacher and advisor. She was presented a bouquet of flowers and gifts. After the ceremony guests and members enjoyed cake and punch at a reception in the lobby.

The National Honor Society ranks as one of the oldest and most prestigious national organizations for high school students. Chapters exist in more than 60 percent of the nation’s high schools and since 1941 millions of students have been selected for membership. Millions of dollars in scholarships have been awarded to senior members since 1945 by the sponsoring organization, The National Association of Secondary School Principal’s (NASSP).

In June the senior NHS members elected the following officers for the 2018-2019 school year: president, Augustus D’Amore; vice president, Victor Orsell; secretary, Altreyvious Stover; treasurer, Abigail Gottung; and public relations, Taylor Vose.

Tags: ,