National Honor Society Inducts 27

Twenty seven students from Johnstown High School were inducted into membership of the William A. Wright Chapter of the National Honor Society in a ceremony held at the school on Tuesday, March 24.

Members were selected by the Faculty Council for meeting high standards of scholarship, service, leadership and character.

Students inducted were Victoria Fish, Steven Camarra, Jack Fitzgerald, Sam Bobbette, Morgan Romano, Reily Kotwasinski, Ashlin Cosselman, Ciara Solby, Mia Franko, Christina Bridge, Jonathan Bearden, Whitney Western, Joseph Salatel, Lauren Adams, Alexandra VanAernam, Alexia Brunetto, Erica Wagner, Logan Brandt, Zachary Morton, Salena Bleyl, Justine Luck, Theadora Dingman, Emma Crouse, Kelsey Johnson, Priya Moudgil, Mattie Clough and Victora Baker

Jonathan Heroth, president of the NHS, served as Master of Ceremony, while officers Hannah Breda, Hannah Chamberlain, Rachel Hansen and Madison Smrtic gave speeches on the four tenets of the society: scholarship, leadership, service and character. Senior members Megan Anagnostopulos and Austin Brand also participated in the formal presentations. NHS members honored their parents for their support and guidance and presented them with a rose.

Also honored at the ceremony were Mr. and Mrs. Michael Beatty. Mr. Beatty will retire as principal of Johnstown High School after more than 30 years in the district as teacher, coach and principal. They were presented a bouquet of flowers and gifts.

After the ceremony guests and members enjoyed cake and punch at a reception in the lobby.

The National Honor Society ranks as one of the oldest and most prestigious national organizations for high school students. Chapters exist in more than 60 percent of the nation’s high schools and since 1941 millions of students have been selected for membership. Millions of dollars in scholarships have been awarded to senior members since 1945 by the sponsoring organization, The National Association of Secondary School Principal’s (NASSP).