JHS National Honor Society Inducts 22

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Twenty-two students from Johnstown High School were inducted as member of the William A. Wright Chapter of the National Honor Society in a ceremony held at the school on Wednesday, March 16.

Members were selected by the Faculty Council for meeting high standards of scholarship, service, leadership and character.

Students inducted were Jacob Billa, Michael Brown, Chelsea Cirillo, Raina Danylak, Trevor Day, Taylor Griffith, Anna Heroth, Jordan Herron, Sarah Martelle, Grace Michienzi, Brandon Mraz, Aylene Newman, Robert Osborne, Alexander Pratt, Hannah Putman, Jordan Rose, Lindsey Salamack,Chloe Salisbury, Molly Sear, Tia Thompson, Jack Truckenmiller, and Casey VanValkenburgh.

Steve Camarra, president of the NHS, served as Master of Ceremony, while other officers and members, Erica Wagner, Logan Brandt, Ciara Solby, and Lauren Adams gave speeches on the four tenets of the society.  Senior members Victoria Fish and Mia Franko also participated in the formal presentations.  NHS members honored their parents for their support and guidance and presented them with a rose.  They also honored JHS psychologist Dr. Michael Frasier (“Doc”), for his encouragement and compassion for everyone in the building.  He was presented gifts.

After the ceremony guests and members enjoyed cake and punch at a reception in the lobby.

The National Honor Society ranks as one of the oldest and most prestigious national organizations for high school students.  Chapters exist in more than 60 percent of the nation’s high schools and since 1941 millions of students have been selected for membership.  Millions of dollars in scholarships have been awarded to senior members since 1945 by the sponsoring organization, The National Association of Secondary School Principal’s (NASSP).


Tags: ,