JHS 1933 Football Team Recognized

The Capital District Chapter of the National Football Foundation and College Hall of Fame has announced that the Johnstown High School 1933 Sectional Football Champions will be part of the​ 9th Annual Capital Region Football Hall of Fame Induction Class. The induction ceremony will take place at the Radisson Turf Inn Albany on August 4, 2018.

Johnstown’s 1933 team completed its grid iron season undefeated and unscored upon. The seniors from the 1933 Sir Bills team compiled a two-year record of 13-1-2, scoring 277 points while allowing only 12, with 14 shutouts. They won two sectional championships. Opponents included Dolgeville, St. Johnsville, Albany, Cooperstown, Scotia, Gloversville, Amsterdam and Whitehall.

The team was coached by Cornelius Moynihan, assisted by James MacFadden. Team members included captain and MVP Ray Bowman, Doug Spawn, Eddie King, Tony Ermie, Frank Kralovic, Tom Murray, Joe Jurica, Doug Heagle, Bill Lasher, John Eastwood, Jesse Robinson, Clarence Johannes, Ken Quackenbush, Tony Maceyka, Steve Scovic, Fred Franko, Bill Connolly, Paul Garden, F. Bedkowski, Ross Tittle, Henry, Fiorito, Frank Zayicek, Erts, Petraske, Simonson, Steve Sokol, Holland, Ruggeri, Miller, Torrisi, Stock, Ticky, Goodemote and Kearns, and managers Cridland and Mulvey.

picture of team and news clippings

Tags: ,